”You have failed me miserably” – Muhammed Ali Jinnah, 21st Feb 2010

Posted: November 21, 2010 in Opinion
Tags: , , , , , ,

Most Un-respected President, Ignorant Ladies and Idiot Gentlemen,

I abhorrently regret, with utmost sincerity, that I was elected the First Governor General of this country 63 years ago. I am extremely ashamed of the fact that I fought with my life for the creation of this state. My life is meaningless, but what about the Millions of bodies cut down for the independence? 63 years ago I told you in simple language about your responsibilities. I gave you the vision of the future, a vision of hope, peace, solidarity, tolerance, unity, faith, and discipline.

I said to you specifically, that it is your first and foremost duty as a government is to maintain law and order, so that the life, property, and religious beliefs of its subjects are fully protected by the state.

But you have failed me miserably.

Your people are unsafe, while you sit in your castle and barracks. Your people call each other by names with inherent hatred. Crime runs wild on your street while you eat the fruits of those crimes. You talk, talk, and talk while your subjects lay dead on the streets.

63 years ago, I told you, one of the biggest curses “is bribery and corruption. That really is a poison. We must put that down with an iron hand and I hope that you will take adequate measures as soon as it is possible for this Assembly to do so.” I expressed my hate for nepotism and jobbery.

But you have failed me miserably.

Alas! Your pockets are filled with the bribes and corruption that I talked about. You take bribes, skim money from government projects, while your subjects rot in the fields with poisoned water. This impurity of corruption has poisoned your blood to the extent that you shamelessly rationalize it as it is your God Given Right.

I can’t go on any longer about the inefficiency of you as a government as it breaks my heart and fill me with anger. You are responsible for the death of my vision and the thousands dead on your streets and fields. Now I will address your subject, the people of Pakistan, for they have disappointed me also.

My Brothers and sisters,

Yes, you have been ruled by dishonesty and corruption. Yes, the inefficiency of your government has let you down. But this does not absolve you of the crimes that you commit. 63 years ago I told you, “If you will work in co-operation, forgetting the past, burying the hatchet, you are bound to succeed. If you change your past and work together in a spirit that everyone of you, no matter to what community he belongs, no matter what relations he had with you in the past, no matter what is his colour, caste or creed, is first, second and last a citizen of this State with equal rights, privileges, and obligations, there will be on end to the progress you will make”.

I also said “You are free; you are free to go to your temples, you are free to go to your mosques or to any other place or worship in this State of Pakistan…….. And you will find that in course of time Hindus would cease to be Hindus and Muslims would cease to be Muslims, not in the religious sense, because that is the personal faith of each individual, but in the political sense as citizens of the State”.

But You have failed me miserably.

Alas! You have given into hatred. You hate the Sindhi, you hate the Punjabi, you hate the Pathan, and you hate the Baluchi. You have drawn deep sectarian boundaries and you base your judgment on a person’s past. You burn churches and you burn temples. You are hypocrites, while you publically say you love a brother from another sect, but in the confines of your own sect you call him a “bed bug”, a “homosexual”, a “parrot” and countless other names. You differentiate a person on the basis of the “topi” he wears or the way he offers his prayers, the way he grows his beard, or the way she covers her head. You feel proud when talking about the inequities of the Hindu society, but you ignore your own black hearts. You say I will not marry a shia, I will not marry a sunni, I will not marry an Aghakhani, I will not marry a barelwi, I will not marry a Arain, I will not marry a Sheikh, I will not marry a Sindhi. Shame on you because with this hatred in your heart you let the corrupt exploit you and you follow them blindly.

Alas! When you celebrate you Independence, at the same time you celebrate your impotence. I see it on television. You show bombs, soldiers, my tomb, war, and buildings, and valleys. You celebrate war with pride while at the same time you ignore the greatest of your nation on the basis of religious and sectarian boundaries. Yes I saw it with horror when you shamelessly forgot the Nobel Prize winner just because of his religion.

Didn’t you listen to what I said 63 years ago? Why would I ask a Hindu to write the first national anthem? Do you still know what I wanted for my country?

At the end I would just say one thing and I have no hope that you will remember it,

‘I believe my vision died with me, and my hope rots with me in my grave’

Jinnah

Leave a Reply

